Literature Resource Center at www.kslib.info (open in new tab)
Don't just Google....
Use this nifty checklist from UC-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.
Websites you may want to use:
These websites are not from the databases, but they contain good information.
Find a Book in the North Library
The book you are looking for may be on a cart for your class. Ask the librarian.
Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!
State of KS Databases
- Go to kslib.info in a new browser window.
- Click on "Explore Our Resources" (Do NOT search in the FIND box.)
- The History Resource Center: World is a good place to start (on the lower left side)
Do an advanced search.
Look at the related subjects to broaden your search on the right
Look at the refined topics to narrow your search on the left.
When finished with that resource, go to Change Databases or Resources at the top.
Do a general search of all the databases.
When you get to the Power Search page, click on advanced search and start over.
The Gale Virtual Reference (Click on Back to Library at the top of the page)
Look for links after doing a general search.
Literature Reference Center (See Box Below)
Literature Resource Center from Gale
Literature Resource Center Database at www.kslib.info
Check out the Literature Resource Center in the Gale Database for more full text articles and images too. You may search by the person (author) or the title. Click on "Explore our Resources" and the databases on the right side of the page under "Popular Topics." You may have to paste www.kslib.info into a new browser window.
If the above link doesn't work, look for the Literature Resource Center in the popular databases available from the State Library (Click on Explore Our Resources).
And if that doesn't work, go to the smsd.org Library Services page under Student Resources. Look for the State of Kansas Library link, or paste www.kslib.info into your web browser.
How to use the Literature Resource Center
- Search by the name of the person or the name of the work.
- Click on tabs at top of search results
- Narrow or broaden topic through the list on the left of the search results
- Pay attention to page numbers in search results to find longer articles
- Look for pdf or full-text results
- If you want to try to find the entire article when the search turns up an abstract, try Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com/
Video on King Arthur from Biography Channel
The Library @SMN
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.
Resources for Citations
Make sure you double check your citations against the MLA Handbook or your teacher's requirements.