This is the "Careers" page of the "Career Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Research   Tags: careers, english, research  

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2016 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/Careers Print Guide RSS Updates

Careers Print Page
  Search: 
 

Science In Context Database for science, health and TECHNOLOGY careers- Password Required at Home

 

Evaluating Websites

Don't just Google....

Use this nifty checklist from University of CA-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.

 

Assignment Planner

Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!

KU Assignment Planner

 

Resources for Citations

Make sure you double check your citations against the MLA Handbook or your teacher's requirements.

Writing Research Papers

Career Research Websites

 

Looking for Books If You Can't Find One on the Career Cart

SMSD Library Look Up at library.smsd.org to search for book titles in The Library @SMN. Most of the career books are on the cart. Don't forget to use the table of contents and the index.

 

The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info for Career Research

If you don't find your career in the Career Books or on the Career Websites on this LibGuide, go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases (You will need to type kslib.info into a new window). 

    • Click on Link "Explore Our Resources"

    • Click on the "Vocational and Career" database that is the very last one on the page or another database that relates to your career.

    • Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching

To Search Additional Databases, click on "Other Databases" and Select All or specific databases. Make sure to refine to "Full Text."

 

Encyclopedia Britannica-- Instead of Wikipedia

Library Research in Graphic Novel Form

The Library @SMN

Profile Image
Sherri Crawford, Library Media Specialist
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.
Send Email
 

eBooks on Careers (Don't Forget the Career Book Cart with More than 200 books!)

For Follett eBooks, go to destiny.smsd.org > SM North > Login with your student # and district password > Catalog Tab> Follett Shelf.

For more information on how to check out ebooks, go to http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/ebooks

Cover Art
Car Mechanic - Christie Marlowe
ISBN: 9781422228890
Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Cover Art
The Adventures of Johnny Bunko - Daniel H. Pink; Rob Ten Pas (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781594482915
Publication Date: 2008-04-01

Cover Art
Federal Law Enforcement Careers - Thomas H. Ackerman
ISBN: 9781593572563
Publication Date: 2006-05-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip