How to Use ABC-CLIO Databases (Password Required)
Each ABC-CLIO database includes articles, images, videos, analysis, maps, primary sources, and more! See Ms. Crawford for the password. Refine your search results to Primary Sources by Clicking on Documents on the left.
- World History Database contains information from the 1400s to the present
- American History Database is subdivided by era from the beginning of the Colonies thru the present.
How to Get Started
ABC-CLIO requires the school's password (see Ms. Crawford for the password).
Click on icons under "ABC-CLIO" Links on this page or the tabs above to use specific ABC-CLIO databases
Click here to search all the ABC-CLIO databases provided by the North Library.
Did You Find a Good Site for Primary Sources?
If you have a good website for Primary Sources, add your link under "Submit."
Primary Sources Analysis Tool
Cold War Links to Primary Sources Collections
Search All The Library Things at One Time- Books, ebooks, articles, databases, videos, images and more!
Go to destiny.smsd.org > Select North > Login in the upper right hand corner with your student id number and district password. Go to the Catalog tab.
1. Do a keyword or subject search. (Library Books appear on the first tab.)
2. Click on One Search Tab in the Results.
3. Click on "Get Results" at bottom after a few seconds.
4. Click on "Show" under the Database name of the article you like (not the database name)
5. Look for EbscoHost, ABC-CLIO, or other appropriate database results, depending on your topic. Of the EBSCO databases, School MasUltra and Academic are the most general. Student Research and Literary Reference may be better depending on your topic.
6. See more detailed instructions on the State Library databases or ABC-CLIO if your search results are not specific enough.
(Search by title and author to find specific books)
The Library @SMN
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.
EBSCOhost Student Research Center
Student Research Center from Ebsco (Go to www.kslib.info and Student Research Center if this doesn't work.) Make sure to click on Full Text before searching.
The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info
Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases (You will need to type kslib.info into a new window)
- Click on Link "Online Resources" and "Student Research"
- Click on Student Research Center, History Reference Center or another database.
- Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching
To Search Additional Databases, click on "Other Databases" and Select All or specific databases. Make sure to refine to "Full Text."
Don't just Google....
Use this nifty checklist from University of CA-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.