This is the "Future Problem Solving" page of the "Future Problem Solving Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Future Problem Solving Project   Tags: english, fiedler, powell, research  

Last Updated: Nov 30, 2015 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/FutureProblems Print Guide RSS Updates

Future Problem Solving Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Future Problem Solving Project

Remember: You may have to alter the name of your topic when you do a search in the databases, espcially in ABC-CLIO

 

ABC-CLIO Links (Password Required)

Science In Context Database- Password Required

Password: indians

 

Gale eBooks from the SM North Library

Click here for Free Ebooks. See the librarian for the password.

http://galesites.com/menu/smnorth

The following reference books are available at the above website.

  • Alternative Energy
  • American Law Yearbook-Major Legal Cases
  • Climate Change
  • Encyclopedia of Religion 
  • History Behind Headlines: Origins of World Conflicts
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations

 

 

Cite Sources with EasyBib

EasyBib: the bibliography maker.

Writing Research Papers

 

ABC-CLIO Databases (Password Required)

ABC-CLIO

The Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society database focuses on controversial issues—with authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources covering 150 of today's most significant social issues, with access to 7,000 articles and 4,500 multimedia primary sources.

How to Get Started

  • ABC-CLIO requires the school's password (see Ms. Crawford for the password).

  • Click on icons under "ABC-CLIO" Links on this page or the tabs above to use specific ABC-CLIO databases

  • Click here to search all the ABC-CLIO databases provided by the North Library. 

 

The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info - Using EbscoHost and other databases

Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases

  • Click on Link "Online Resources"
  • Click on the NEW Explora Multi-Search link to search all the databases at once.
  •  If you want a specific database, you may choose Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, Student Research Center, MasUltra, Literature Reference Center or another database. Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching

To Search Additional Databases, click on "Other Databases" and Select All or specific databases. Make sure to refine to "Full Text."

 

Search All The Library Things at One Time- Books, ebooks, articles, databases, videos, images and more!

Go to destiny.smsd.org 

Select North

Login in the upper right hand corner with your student id number and district password.

Go to the Catalog tab

Look for online resources and library books at the same time:

 1. Do a keyword search

2. Library Books appear on the first tab. Look for the Call Number. We will keep the books on a cart in the library.

3. For Ebscohost databases, ebooks and ABC-CLIO, click on the One Search Tab. 

3. Click on "Get Results" at bottom after a few seconds.

4. Click on "Show" under the Database name of the article you like (not the database name)

5. Look for EbscoHost, ABC-CLIO, or other appropriate database results, depending on your topic. Of the EBSCO databases, School MasUltra and Academic are the most general. Student Research may be better depending on your topic.

6. See more detailed instructions on  the State Library databases or ABC-CLIO if your search results are not specific enough.

If your topic does not appear, try a different search term or go directly to ABC-CLIO, Science in Context or kslib.info to search in the databases.

See These LibGuides for more databases

The databases at www.kslib.info give you access to great Gale databases.

SM North Library Online Resources
by Sherri Crawford - Last Updated Nov 13, 2017
Subscription Databases from the school district and the North Library. Plus lots of links to other resources to help students with research.
665 views this year
ABC-CLIO: A North Library Subscription with Geography, History and Issues databases
by Sherri Crawford - Last Updated Mar 9, 2015
ABC-CLIO Databases are brought to you by The Library @SMN. You need a password. See Ms. Crawford
83 views this year
A-Z Databases
by Sherri Crawford - Last Updated Mar 9, 2015
55 views this year
Citations
by Sherri Crawford - Last Updated Nov 7, 2017
27 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip