AMAChicagoTurabian
This is the "1930s Research" page of the "Of Mice and Men Research - Freshmen English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Of Mice and Men Research - Freshmen English  

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2016 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/Mice Print Guide RSS Updates

1930s Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ABC-CLIO Links (Password Required)

Each ABC-CLIO database includes articles, images, videos, analysis, maps, primary sources, and more! See Ms. Crawford for the password.

How to Get Started

Click on icons under "ABC-CLIO" Links on this page or the tabs above to use specific ABC-CLIO databases
Click here to search all the ABC-CLIO databases provided by the North Library.

Science in Context (Also covers technology and some history)

 

Evaluating Websites

Don't just Google....

Use this nifty checklist from University of CA-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.

 

eBooks from Gale Virtual Reference (Get password from Ms. Crawford)

  • See librarian for password (may only be required at home).

  • Go to http://galesites.com/menu/smnorth

  • Click on Gale Virtual Reference. History, and the eBook American Decades 

  • Search within the Volume on the right.

  • Take Notes and Use Quotation marks when copy and pasting.

  • Note MLA Citation at bottom of articles. Check against MLA rules.

Cover Art
American Decades, 1930-1939 - Manly
ISBN: 9780810357259
Publication Date: 1995-09-08

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography - Gale Research Inc Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0787622214
Publication Date: 1997-12-02

 

The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info

Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases

  • Click on Link "Online Resources"
  • Click on the NEW Explora Multi-Search link to search all the databases at once.
  •  If you want a specific database, you may choose Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, Student Research Center, MasUltra, Literature Reference Center or another database. Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching

To Search Additional Databases, click on "Other Databases" and Select All or specific databases. Make sure to refine to "Full Text."

 

Search All The Library Things at One Time- Books, ebooks, articles, databases, videos, images and more!

Go to destiny.smsd.org > Select North > Login in the upper right hand corner with your student id number and district password. Go to the Catalog tab.

 1. Do a keyword or subject search. (Library Books appear on the first tab.)

2. Click on One Search Tab in the Results. 

3. Click on "Get Results" at bottom after a few seconds.

4. Click on "Show" under the Database name of the article you like (not the database name)

5. Look for EbscoHost, ABC-CLIO, or other appropriate database results, depending on your topic. Of the EBSCO databases, School MasUltra and Academic are the most general. Student Research and Literary Reference may be better depending on your topic.

6. See more detailed instructions on  the State Library databases or ABC-CLIO if your search results are not specific enough.

 

(Search by title and author to find specific books)

The Library @SMN

Profile Image
Sherri Crawford, Library Media Specialist
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.
Send Email
 

Ms. JB's Assignment

Writing Research Papers

 

NEW- Use Destiny.smsd.org One Search

Search all the databases, plus North's library books at ONE TIME with ONE SEARCH!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip