This is the "Online Resources" page of the "SM North Library Online Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SM North Library Online Resources   Tags: citations, databases, ebooks, english, health, history, kslib, online, powerpoint, research, science, socialstudies, writing  

Subscription Databases from the school district and the North Library. Plus lots of links to other resources to help students with research.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/OnlineResearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Bloom's Literature - NEW

Bloom's Literature sorts search results into the following categories: Criticism, Literary Works, Reference, Video and Audio. You may also browse by literary movements.

Username: SMNORTH

Password: indians

 

NEW- Use Destiny.smsd.org One Search

Search all the databases, plus North's library books at ONE TIME with ONE SEARCH!

Science In Context Database- Password Required

Password: indians

eBooks on Follett Shelf- Go to destiny.smsd.org and Sign in with your student # and password

Sign in at Destiny, search for Electronic Books in the Catalog. You will need to download the Brytewave App from Self-Service to read Ebooks. Search "Brytewave" on your computer with the Spotlight tool to see if you already have it.

  • destiny.smsd.org
    Sign in at North with district login
    Go to Follett Shelf on Left Side menu on page.
    Return book early if you are finished with it.
 

ABC-CLIO Links (Password Required)

 

EBSCOhost Student Research Center

Student Research Center from Ebsco (Go to www.kslib.info if this doesn't work.) Make sure to click on Full Text before searching.

 

Search State Library Databases. Go to www.kslib.info first in another tab if this doesn't work

Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

Digital Public Library

 

Cite Sources with EasyBib

EasyBib: the bibliography maker.
 

Assignment Planner

Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!

KU Assignment Planner

 

 

Search for a library book through the Destiny Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

One Search From the North Library

Go to destiny.smsd.org to search for databases, websites and books in The Library @SMN

  • Click on North Library 
  • Log in with your student number and laptop password
  • For Physical Books, click on Location and North.
  • Go to tabs Digital and Databases for credible online resources
 

The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info

Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases

  • Click on Link "Online Resources"
  • Click on the NEW Explora Multi-Search link to search all the databases at once.
  •  If you want a specific database, you may choose Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, Student Research Center, MasUltra, Literature Reference Center or another database. Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching

To Search Additional Databases, click on "Other Databases" and Select All or specific databases. Make sure to refine to "Full Text."

 

Ebooks from the SM North Library

Click here for Free Ebooks. Password: indians

http://galesites.com/menu/smnorth

The following reference books are available at the above website.

  • Alternative Energy,  2007 
  • American Decades,  2001 
  • American Law Yearbook: Major Legal Cases, 2012
  • Anatomy and Physiology Illustrated Guide 2010
  • CaseBase: Case Studies in Global Business, 2012
  • Climate Change, 2 Vol., 2008
  • Elizabethan World Reference, 4 Vol., 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed, 2003
  • Encyclopedia of World Mythology, 5 Vol., 2009 
  • Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.,  2005 
  • Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd ed., 2004 
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 4th ed., 2011 
  • History Behind Headlines: Origins of World Conflicts,  2003 
  • New Dictionary of the History of Ideas,  2005 
  • Novels for Students Vol. 1- 16:  , 2003 
  • Roaring Twenties Reference Library, 2 Vol., 2006
  • Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, 2007 
  • Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans: A Guide to Financial Aid Programs for Students 2012 
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances,  2006
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 13th ed.,  2012 

 

 

Research with Databases

 

Links and Instructions for turnitin.com

Go to www.turnitin.com. Get Enrollment information from your teacher and follow the directions on this attachment.

 

Search All The Library Things at One Time- Books, ebooks, articles, databases, videos, images and more!

Go to destiny.smsd.org > Select North > Login in the upper right hand corner with your student id number and district password. Go to the Catalog tab.

 1. Do a keyword or subject search. (Library Books appear on the first tab.)

2. Click on One Search Tab in the Results. 

3. Click on "Get Results" at bottom after a few seconds.

4. Click on "Show" under the Database name of the article you like (not the database name)

5. Look for EbscoHost, ABC-CLIO, or other appropriate database results, depending on your topic. Of the EBSCO databases, School MasUltra and Academic are the most general. Student Research and Literary Reference may be better depending on your topic.

6. See more detailed instructions on  the State Library databases or ABC-CLIO if your search results are not specific enough.

 

(Search by title and author to find specific books)

 

Citing Articles in Ebscohost Databases from www.kslib.info

For more information on Citations and EasyBib School Edition, go to the North Library Citation LibGuide at: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/citations

Click on the document for instructions on Ebscohost article citations.

 

 

Why Databases are important- A YouTube Video

Why you can't rely on just Google. Go to www.kslib.info for online databases. (Turn Music off in the library if you don't have headphones, please)

The North Learning Commons

Profile Image
Sherri Crawford, Library Media Specialist, Learning Commons Hours: 7:20 to 3:20 when school is open
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
913.993.7033.
sherricrawford [at] smsd.org
Send Email

Websites to Help You Find Books

Request A Book to Be Purchased for the North Library

Library Research in Graphic Novel Form

Powerpoint Tips

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip