This is the "Env, Ed. Research and LibGuides" page of the "Research on Science Issues" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research on Science Issues   Tags: environmental, powerpoint, research, science, teachers  

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2013 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/ScienceResearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Env, Ed. Research and LibGuides Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ABC-CLIO Links (Password Required)

 

Search State Library Databases. Go to www.kslib.info if this doesn't work

Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

Cite Sources with EasyBib

EasyBib: the bibliography maker.
 

Ebooks from the SM North Library

Click here for Free Ebooks. See the librarian for the password.

http://galesites.com/menu/smnorth

Look for the Alternative Energy ebook.
 

Looking for Books

SMSD Library Look Up at library.smsd.org to search for book titles in The Library @SMN

 

Encyclopedia Britannica-- Instead of Wikipedia

 

Assignment Planner

Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!

KU Assignment Planner

 

 

Evaluating Websites

Don't just Google....

Use this nifty checklist from UC-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.

Powerpoint Tips

Links to Other Environmental Ed LibGuides

The databases at www.kslib.info give you access to great databases, such as the Student Resource Center and the Environmental Databases

 

The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info

Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases (You will need to type kslib.info into a new window)

    • Click on Link "Explore Our Resources"

    • Click on Academic Search Premier, Medline  or another database.

    • Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching

To Search Additional Databases, click on "Other Databases" and Select All or specific databases. Make sure to refine to "Full Text."

 

ABC-CLIO Databases (Password Required)

Click Here for all ABC-CLIO databases

Each ABC-CLIO database includes articles, images, videos, analysis, maps, primary sources, and more! See Ms. Crawford for the password.

  • The Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society database focuses on controversial issues—with authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources covering 150 of today's most significant social issues, with access to 7,000 articles and 4,500 multimedia primary sources.
  • American Government Database gives details about the political parties and the set up of the US Government.

How to Get Started

  • ABC-CLIO requires the school's password (see Ms. Crawford for the password).

  • Click on icons under "ABC-CLIO" Links on this page or the tabs above to use specific ABC-CLIO databases

  • Click here to search all the ABC-CLIO databases provided by the North Library.

For additional databases, use the State Databases at www.kslib.info.

 

EasyBib School Edition Instructions (See Getting Started with Easy Bib Tab for more inf...

EasyBib School Edition: Keep Track of Citations and Notes

1. Go to www.easybib.com/register to create an account. See Ms. Crawford for Coupon Code

2. Create a new project with a title and MLA 7. Click on Bibliography under your project name when you find a source to cite.

Creating Citations:

Add a web address, IBSN number or title for book, or an article title to Autocite
In databases at www.kslib.info,  go to Cite, choose MLA and copy the citation. For eBooks, look at bottom of the article.
To paste the citation into easybib.com, click on the last tab that says “All 59 options”,  choose Copy and Paste on left.

For Virtual Notecards:

  • Click on Notebook under your project title and copy and paste the text from the article (or type the text from a book) into the quote box.  Make sure to add quotation marks before and after, and a page number if one is available
  • Now or later, you may go back to Paraphrase the quote and add a heading in Title. The Organize option allows you to set up groups or color code items.

Outline in EasyBib:

On the right side of the page, you may create an outline with bullets, and drag your notecards into the outline.

Notes to Remember in EasyBib.com:

To find the url of a source you have already created, go to the source and hit edit.
You may go back to edit your sources to add information about the publisher, article title, or the date. Check your teacher’s requirements for MLA style.
 

EasyBib School Edition: See Librarian to Get Code for Your Account

Set Up Your Own Account in EasyBib School Edition: See the Librarian to Get Code for Your  Account Set Up.

It will allow you to create citations, create Virtual Notecards and paraphrase with the EasyBib tools, and make your outline from those notecards.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip