NEW: Encyclopedia Britannica- See Librarian for Home Password
Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!
ABC-CLIO Issues Database
See Ms. Crawford for the NEW password.
- The Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society database focuses on controversial issues—with authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources covering 150 of today's most significant social issues, with access to 7,000 articles and 4,500 multimedia primary sources.
How to Get Started
ABC-CLIO requires the school's password (see Ms. Crawford for the NEW password).
Click on icons under "ABC-CLIO" Links on this page or the tabs above to use specific ABC-CLIO databases
Click here to search all the ABC-CLIO databases provided by the North Library.
For additional social studies databases, use the State Databases at www.kslib.info.
The State Library of Kansas at www.kslib.info (Open in new tab)
Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases (You will need to type kslib.info into a new tab)
Click on Link "Explore Our Resources"
Click on InfoTrac, General OneFile or another databases. RETURN TO THIS LIBGUIDE and Use Powersearch box. See below for more instructions on Powersearch.
How to do a PowerSearch with the Gale Databases
Go to www.kslib.info (in a new window or tab) and Click on “Explore Our Resources” inside the Yellow Box.. Open any of the Gale Databases- General One File and Expanded Academic are good ones. Click on the “Tools” menu and then choose “Change Databases” from the drop down menu. Return to this LIBGuide and use the "POWERSEARCH" Box on the left.
Click on the "Select All" box on the top right side of the Gale Database page. Hit the "Continue" button at the top of the page. You will go to a PowerSearch page, and can put in your topic. Make sure you check the “Full Text” box before starting your search.
Writing Research Papers
The Library @SMN
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.
Don't just Google....
Use this nifty checklist from University of CA-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.
Citations with MS Word
See These LibGuides for more databases
The databases at www.kslib.info give you access to great Gale databases, such as the Student Resource Center and the Environmental Databases
- Last Updated Nov 13, 2017
Subscription Databases from the school district and the North Library. Plus lots of links to other resources to help students with research.
665 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 17, 2013
0 views this year