Put the RE in REsearch....
There is a difference between Searching for information and REsearching.
In research, you will find information about your topic and then you will synthesize the information to come to your own conclusion about that subject.
Assignment: Why is Shakespeare still being read today? What is it that makes Shakespeare relevant? Should Shakespeare continue to be taught in schools?
See box below for Ms. Rivers' handout.
Gale ebooks from the North Library- Password Required
Click below for Free Ebooks. See the librarian for the password. Several articles are in here about Literature and History, as well as other topics. Make sure to search WITHIN the Publication.
Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!
NEW- Bloom's Literature - Use This First!
Bloom's Literature sorts search results into the following categories: Criticism, Literary Works, Reference, Video and Audio. You may also browse by literary movements.
Literary Reference Center from EBSCO
Literary Reference Center Database at kslib.info
Check out the Literary Reference Center from the State Library of Kansas for more full text articles and images too. You may search by the person (author) or the title.
Important: >Open www.kslib.info > Click on "Online Resources" > Click on "Literary Reference Center" under Educator Resources in lower right on page
How to use the Literary Reference Center
Search by the name of the person or the name of the work.
Click on tabs at top of search results
Narrow or broaden topic through the list on the left of the search results
Pay attention to page numbers in search results to find longer articles
Look for pdf or full-text results
ABC-CLIO Modern History and More (Password Required)
Each ABC-CLIO database includes articles, images, videos, analysis, maps, primary sources, and more! See Ms. Crawford for the password.
- World History: Modern Database features eras from 1500 AD thru the present.
- American History Database covers eras in U.S. history from the discovery of the country to the present day.
- The World Geography Database focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that influence our world and includes CLIOView comparison tool.
- The Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society database focuses on controversial issues—with authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources covering 150 of today's most significant social issues, with access to 7,000 articles and 4,500 multimedia primary sources.
How to Get Started
ABC-CLIO requires the school's password (see Ms. Crawford for the password).
Click on icons under "ABC-CLIO" Links on this page or the tabs above to use specific ABC-CLIO databases
Click here to search all the ABC-CLIO databases provided by the North Library.
For additional social studies databases, use the State Databases at www.kslib.info.
The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info
Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases
- Click on Link "Online Resources"
- Click on the NEW Explora Multi-Search link to search all the databases at once.
- If you want a specific database, you may choose Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, or another database. Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching
The Library @SMN
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.
Ye Helpful Websites
Resources for Citations
Search All The Library Things at One Time- Books, ebooks, articles, databases, videos, images and more!
Go to destiny.smsd.org > Select North > Login in the upper right hand corner with your student id number and district password. Go to the Catalog tab.
1. Do a keyword or subject search. (Library Books appear on the first tab under title.)
2. For vetted websites, click on the tabs for "Websites" and "Digital Resources".
3. For databases and official websites, click on One Search Tab in the Results.
3.Click on "Get Results" at bottom after a few seconds.
4. Click on "Show" under the Database name of the article you like (not the database name)
5. Look for EbscoHost, ABC-CLIO, or other appropriate database results, depending on your topic. Of the EBSCO databases, School MasUltra and Academic are the most general. Student Research and Literary Reference may be better depending on your topic.
Find a Book in the North Library
The book you are looking for may be on a cart for your class. Ask the librarian.