This is the "Teacher Page" page of the "What Library Resources are available for teachers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

What Library Resources are available for teachers   Tags: books, databases, libguides, materials, reading, teachers, technologytools  

Check back often as this page will be updated frequently! Email nocrawfo@smsd.org with questions or if you have something you would like to share with the teachers @SMN.
Last Updated: Aug 9, 2017 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/TeacherHandout Print Guide RSS Updates

Teacher Page Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Library@SMN

What New Teachers Should Know about The Learning Commons:

  • Bring classes for materials, databases, projects or computer help

  • Send individual students (with passes, please!)

  • Learn about or checkout technology (cameras, projectors, etc.)

  • Collaborate with the Librarian on lesson plans (with or w/o technology)

  • Request materials from other schools

  • Work or hang out during your planning period

  • Sign up for conference rooms

The Learning Commons @SMN is the place for teachers to:

  • Bring students

  • Have a LibGuide like this made for your class or project

  • Ask questions

  • Relax!

 

Frequently Asked Questions?

How Do Teachers Reserve Space in the Learning Commons?

Teachers can stop by the learning commons and sign up with the librarian to be put on the calendar. You may email sherricrawford@smsd.org as well with dates and times, equipment requirements (projectors, etc.), assignments, and other materials needed (books).

Computer Help

Ms. Crawford can help with some problems.

The I.T. building analysts will be at North part time. You will be emailed their schedule.

Go to support.smsd.org and put in a technology request.

Call the Help Desk at 3-8880. Depending on the problem, they can often access a computer remotely.

 

 

Ebooks from the SM North Library

Click here for Free Ebooks. Password: indians

http://galesites.com/menu/smnorth

The following reference books are available at the above website.

  • Alternative Energy,  2007 
  • American Decades,  2001 
  • American Law Yearbook: Major Legal Cases, 2012
  • Anatomy and Physiology Illustrated Guide 2010
  • CaseBase: Case Studies in Global Business, 2012
  • Climate Change, 2 Vol., 2008
  • Elizabethan World Reference, 4 Vol., 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed, 2003
  • Encyclopedia of World Mythology, 5 Vol., 2009 
  • Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.,  2005 
  • Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd ed., 2004 
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 4th ed., 2011 
  • History Behind Headlines: Origins of World Conflicts,  2003 
  • New Dictionary of the History of Ideas,  2005 
  • Novels for Students Vol. 1- 16:  , 2003 
  • Roaring Twenties Reference Library, 2 Vol., 2006
  • Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, 2007 
  • Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans: A Guide to Financial Aid Programs for Students 2012 
  • UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances,  2006
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 13th ed.,  2012 

 

Links to LibGuides

Below are some North Library LibGuides that may be of interest to you

SM North Library Online Resources
by Sherri Crawford - Last Updated Nov 13, 2017
Subscription Databases from the school district and the North Library. Plus lots of links to other resources to help students with research.
665 views this year
A-Z Databases
by Sherri Crawford - Last Updated Mar 9, 2015
55 views this year
ABC-CLIO: A North Library Subscription with Geography, History and Issues databases
by Sherri Crawford - Last Updated Mar 9, 2015
ABC-CLIO Databases are brought to you by The Library @SMN. You need a password. See Ms. Crawford
83 views this year

The Library @SMN

Profile Image
Sherri Crawford, Library Media Specialist
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip