Learn about Banned Books
Authors on censorship and banning books
Cite Sources with EasyBib
Find a Book in the North Library
Click on North Library from the District Library Catalog Page at destiny.smsd.org.
Login in the upper right corner with student id # and district password to view online resources and check out ebooks on Follett Shelf.
Resources for Citations
Make sure you double check your citations against the MLA Handbook or your teacher's requirements.
Search All The Library Things at One Time- Books, ebooks, articles, databases, videos, images and more!
Go to destiny.smsd.org > Select North > Login in the upper right hand corner with your student id number and district password. Go to the Catalog tab.
1. Do a keyword or subject search. (Library Books appear on the first tab.)
2. Click on One Search Tab in the Results.
3. Click on "Get Results" at bottom after a few seconds.
4. Click on "Show" under the Database name of the article you like (not the database name)
5. Look for EbscoHost, ABC-CLIO, or other appropriate database results, depending on your topic. Of the EBSCO databases, School MasUltra and Academic are the most general. Student Research and Literary Reference may be better depending on your topic.
6. See more detailed instructions on the State Library databases or ABC-CLIO if your search results are not specific enough.
(Search by title and author to find specific books)
Literary Reference Center from EBSCO
Literary Reference Center Database at kslib.info
Check out the Literary Reference Center from the State Library of Kansas for more full text articles and images too. You may search by the person (author) or the title.
Important: >Open www.kslib.info > Click on "Online Resources" > Click on "Literary Reference Center" under Books in the Center
How to use the Literary Reference Center
Search by the name of the person or the name of the work.
Click on tabs at top of search results
Narrow or broaden topic through the list on the left of the search results
Pay attention to page numbers in search results to find longer articles
Look for pdf or full-text results
For more articles, go to Search Other Databases, Click on icon Ebscohost, and Student Research Center.
You may also start over at kslib.info and click on Student Research Center. Make sure search Full Text
Other Literary Reference Center features:
- Ability to Browse “Full Text Classics” from the front page
- A Dynamic Timeline visible on the landing page
- Book Carousel
- EBSCOhost tools such as Citation Tool (Cite, Export, etc.)
- PDF Viewer for PDF full text
- “Peer Review” limiter available from Advanced Search screen
The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info
Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases
- Click on Link "Online Resources"
- Click on the NEW Explora Multi-Search link to search all the databases at once.
- If you want a specific database, you may choose Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, Student Research Center, MasUltra, Literature Reference Center or another database. Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching
To Search Additional Databases, click on "Other Databases" and Select All or specific databases. Make sure to refine to "Full Text."
The Library @SMN
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.
Why Can't I Find Literary Reviews with Google?
Using Google for searches is fast, fun and usually gives you tons of results. However, when you are searching for specific critical articles about works of literature, you will discover that using online databases is a better way to find exactly what you need. The State Library of Kansas subscribes to the Literature Resource Center, which previously was only available for a fee.