AMAChicagoTurabian
This is the "Citation Basics" page of the "Citations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citations   Tags: citations, databases, easybib, english, research  

Last Updated: Nov 7, 2017 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/citations Print Guide RSS Updates

Citation Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

NEW - Works Cited Screencast by Mr. Rose

 

FAQs about Citations

This guide is meant to assist you in citing source material using the most commonly used citation styles. This guide is meant only as a starting point and is, by no means, inclusive.

What is a citation? Webster's Dictionary defines "citation" as the act of citing a passage from a book, or from another person, in his own words; also, the passage or words quoted; quotation.

What is a bibliography? The American Heritage Dictionary defines "bibliography" as a list of writings used or considered by an author in preparing a particular work.

How are they different? Often times, we used citation and bibliography to mean the same thing. Sometimes, we also use the terms "reference list" or "works cited." However, technically, a citation is used for something you quote from and a bibliography is a list of every source you use to write your paper -- whether you quote from it or not.

Why should I cite? Well, mainly, because your teacher expects you to. That said, citing your sources also shows that you have done research using authoritative sources. Also, bibliographies act as further reading lists and help guide the reader of your paper to additional sources on that particular topic.

Which style should I use?

Most English classes use MLA 8. Teachers will let you know what style to use. If they don't, here's a general break down:

APA: Psychology, Education and other Social Sciences.

MLA: Literature, Arts and the Humanities

 

 

Helpful Websites for Citations and Research

When to Paraphrase:

Easy Bib examples on paraphrase and direct quotes

EasyBib Student Guide to Paraphrasing

You may find the following guides also helpful:

Online Writing Lab (OWL) from Purdue University

From Purdue University, OWL provides up to date print and electronic resources on citations and contains useful handouts.

For the OWL handout on MLA style:
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01/

For the OWL handout on citing electronic resources:
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/08/

OWL Powerpoint describing MLA citation style.
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/15

OWL In Text Citations Page: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/2/

 

 

Welcome to EasyBib: Student Guide

 

Taking Notes in EasyBib School Edition: See Librarian to Get Code for Your Account

Set Up Your Own Account in EasyBib School Edition: See the Librarian to Get Code for Your  Account Set Up.

It will allow you to create citations, create Virtual Notecards and paraphrase with the EasyBib tools, and make your outline from those notecards.

 

Microsoft Word Citation Feature (Also See tab above)

 

EasyBib School Edition Instructions (See Getting Started with Easy Bib Tab for more information)

EasyBib School Edition: Keep Track of Citations and Notes

1. Go to www.easybib.com/register to create an account. See Ms. Crawford for Coupon Code

2. Create a new project with a title and MLA 7. Click on Bibliography under your project name when you find a source to cite.

Creating Citations:

Add a web address, IBSN number or title for book, or an article title to Autocite
In databases at www.kslib.info,  go to Cite, choose MLA and copy the citation. For eBooks, look at bottom of the article.
To paste the citation into easybib.com, click on the last tab that says “All 59 options”,  choose Copy and Paste on left.

For Virtual Notecards:

  • Click on Notebook under your project title and copy and paste the text from the article (or type the text from a book) into the quote box.  Make sure to add quotation marks before and after, and a page number if one is available
  • Now or later, you may go back to Paraphrase the quote and add a heading in Title. The Organize option allows you to set up groups or color code items.

Outline in EasyBib:

On the right side of the page, you may create an outline with bullets, and drag your notecards into the outline.

Notes to Remember in EasyBib.com:

To find the url of a source you have already created, go to the source and hit edit.
You may go back to edit your sources to add information about the publisher, article title, or the date. Check your teacher’s requirements for MLA style.
 

Cite Sources with EasyBib

Use this for a quick way to make a citation. If you have an EasyBib Account, make sure you sign in to save your source.

EasyBib: the bibliography maker.
 

Saving Your EasyBib Works Cited as a Word Document

Saving Your EasyBib School Edition Works Cited Page as a Word Document

  • After you have added your citationis to your EasyBib Account, click on Bibliography.

  • Hit "Print as a Word Document"

  • Click on "Download Your Bibliography for MS Word

  • Save As under your student number and name the document (with the date, in case you make changes in future drafts).

 

How to Create a Hanging Indent for Works Cited Page

The full citations will be listed at the end of the paper under "Works Cited."  All lines in a citation other than the first are indented 5 spaces.  This is called a "hanging indent."

If you already tried to indent the second line, delete any spaces you put in so that your citation is not indented on the second line. It should look like this example:

Tull, Laura. "The Best Article Ever Written by a Librarian." Journal of the Truly Amazing Librarian 3.2 (2011): 351-59. Print.

  1. Highlight the the entire citation.
  2. Make sure you are on the "Home tab" and then click on Paragraph.
  3. In the paragraph window that pops up, drop down the Special: menu and select: Hanging indent.
  4. Click on OK and the second line will indent.

 

Citing Articles in Ebscohost Databases from www.kslib.info

Click on the document below for instructions on finding Ebscohost article citations.

 

 

Assignment Planner

Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!

KU Assignment Planner

 

 

Research Help: Searching Online and Evaluating Websites

The following Resources Can Help You in the Research Process:

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip