This is the "Research Sources" page of the "Documentary Project- English 11" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Documentary Project- English 11  

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2014 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/documentary Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ms. Johnson's Assignment

 

iMovie Help

Below are some places you can go to get help with iMovie.

Don't forget when you are in iMovie, you can click on the HELP option in the top menu bar. Then click on iMovie Help option and search what you need help on.

 iMovie tutorial video from www.apple.com 

         Scroll down to "Make Movies" to watch the tutorial. Further down is a link on how to use iTrailer.

 

ABC-CLIO Links (Password Required)

 

Civil Rights Links

 

Evaluating Websites

Don't just Google....

Use this nifty checklist from University of CA-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.

 

Use the CRAAP Test to Evaluate Websites

 

Website evaluation

Evaluate These Websites

Use the handout provided to evaluate.

Website 1: Tree Octopus

Website 2: Golden Lion Tamarins

 

ABC-CLIO Databases (Password Required)

ABC-CLIO

Each ABC-CLIO database includes articles, images, videos, analysis, maps, primary sources, and more! See Ms. Crawford for the password.

  • American History Database covers eras in U.S. history from the discovery of the country to the present day.
  • The Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society database focuses on controversial issues—with authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources covering 150 of today's most significant social issues, with access to 7,000 articles and 4,500 multimedia primary sources.

How to Get Started

  • ABC-CLIO requires the school's password (see Ms. Crawford for the password).

  • Click on icons under "ABC-CLIO" Links on this page or the tabs above to use specific ABC-CLIO databases

  • Click here to search all the ABC-CLIO databases provided by the North Library.

For additional social studies databases, use the State Databases at www.kslib.info.

 

The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info

Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases (You will need to type kslib.info into a new window)

    • Click on Online Resources

    • Click on Academic Search Premier, Masterfile Search Premier or another database.

    • Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching

 

 

Search Online and Print Resources at destiny.smsd.org

Go to destiny.smsd.org to search the library's books, databases and other credible websites.Choose North HS.

Login with your student # and district login password. 

1. Do a keyword or subject search
2. Click on One Search Tab in the Results. 
3. Click on "Get Results" after a few seconds.
4. Click on "Show" under the Database name.
If you want videos, choose to Learn 360 in the Results list- remember to click Show

 

Why Databases are important- A YouTube Video

Why you can't rely on just Google. Go to www.kslib.info for online databases. (Turn Music off in the library if you don't have headphones, please)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip