EBSCOhost Student Research Center
Go to www.kslib.info if this doesn't work.
Encyclopedia Britannica-- Instead of Wikipedia
Search State Library Databases. Go to www.kslib.info if this doesn't work
Don't just Google....
Use this nifty checklist from University of CA-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.
ABC-CLIO Databases (Password Required)
Each ABC-CLIO database includes articles, images, videos, analysis, maps, primary sources, and more! See Ms. Crawford for the password
- The Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society database focuses on controversial issues—with authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources.
- American Government Database gives details about the political parties and the set up of the US Government
- The World Geography Database focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that influence our world and includes CLIOView comparison tool.
- Click here to search all the ABC-CLIO databases provided by the North Library.
How to Get Started
ABC-CLIO requires the school's password (see Ms. Crawford for the password).
Click on icons under "ABC-CLIO" on this page or the links above to use specific ABC-CLIO databases
Use the Quick Search box to look for your topic.
Ebooks from the SM North Library
Click here for Free Ebooks. See the librarian for the password.
Here are some of the ebooks that may be useful to you:
- Alternative Energy, 2007
- Climate Change, 2 Vol., 2008
- Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed., 2005
- History Behind Headlines: Origins of World Conflicts, 2003
- UXL Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances, 2006
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 13th ed., 2012
The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info
Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases (You will need to type kslib.info into a new window)
- Click on Link "Explore Our Resources"
- Click on Academic Search Premier, Literature Reference Center or another database.
- Make sure you click on "Search Options" and "Full Text" before searching
To Search Additional Databases, click on "Other Databases" and Select All or specific databases. Make sure to refine to "Full Text."
The Library @SMN
Call The Library @ SMN at 913.993.7033.