This is the "Home" page of the "Science and Survival" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science and Survival   Tags: fluty, research, science, teachers  

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2010 URL: http://smnorth.smsd.libguides.com/sciencesurvival Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Looking for Books

SMSD Library Look Up at library.smsd.org to search for book titles in The Library @SMN

 

Go to www.kslib.info to search the State of Kansas Library databases (You may need to type into a new window if it asks you for a password) 

  • Click on Link "Explore Our Resources"

  • "Student Resources in Context" is a good place to start in the list of databases

  • To get to the other databases, click on the top where it says "Resources" or "Gale Databases"

  • You may search multiple databases, by only selecting the databases you want and searching through the "Find" box at the top of the databases page.

 

Assignment Planner

Put in the date you start your research paper and the day it is due, the Assignment Planner will come up with a timeline for you to follow!

KU Assignment Planner

 

Online Databases for SMN Students

District Databases require a password at home. North Subscription Databases require databases at both home and school. See the Librarian for all passwords.

Also check other recommended online resources on the right.

  • EBSCO
    The SM School District no longer subscribes to EBSCO. Use another source below
  • The State Library of Kansas at kslib.info  
      
    Click on "Explore Our Online Resources" If this link doesn't work, go to kslib.info in a new browser window.
  • Gale Databases
    Includes ebooks, articles from magazines and newspapers, and multimedia content
  • Lexis-Nexis
    Government and Legal databases. Use your student number and password to login
  • ABC-CLIO Social Studies Databases
    Contains different social studies databases in government, geography, history and issues. Each database contains articles, images, videos and timelines. For the password, see the librarian
 

Searching State Databases from Gale

How to do a PowerSearch with the Gale Databases

 

Evaluating Websites

Don't just Google....

Use this nifty checklist from University of Cali-Berkeley to evaluate websites that you find to make sure you are getting valuable and accurate information.

Powerpoint Tips

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip